BCH newsletter Q2 header

 

 

 

Visit our Website  

 

 

 

 

 

 

Texas Bans Texting and Driving


 

 

 

 

 

 

On June 6, 2017, Governor Abbot signed H.R. 62 into law banning texting while driving in Texas. The new law, which is set to go into effect on September 1, prohibits drivers from reading, writing or sending electronic messages unless the vehicle is stopped.

 

Fines for a driver’s first offense will range between $25 and $99. Subsequent offenses will carry a fine between $100 and $200. Additionally, the Department of Motor Vehicles is not authorized to assign points to a driver’s license for a “texting while driving offense.”

 

Punishment under H.R. 62 becomes much stricter in the event of death or serious bodily injury to another. In such a situation, the offense becomes a Class A misdemeanor punishable by a fine not to exceed $4,000 and confinement in jail for a term not to exceed one year.

 

According to the Virginia Tech Transportation Institute, texting while driving is six times more likely to cause an auto crash than driving while intoxicated.

 

The Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA), as well as BCH, strongly encourages employers to have, and enforce, a clear unambiguous policy against texting while driving.

 

 

 

Additional Resources:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Us

BCH has a unique approach to advising our clients on how to control their Total Cost of Risk, not simply insurance cost. The Total Cost of Risk (TCOR) includes preventive, direct and indirect costs associated with operating a business. The BCH approach includes collaborating with our clients to create a long range written plan for controlling their TCOR .